Self-Evaluation of Internship

As one of their first high school interns, I believed I formed a good relationship with the supervisors and World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads. I was not given research tasks, like the college students, so the work load was a majority of the time manual labor. I was able to learn more about human trafficking through their “Not My Life” screening, as well as, test my beliefs in Ayn Rand by using my work ethic and past knowledge to help me learn how to perform on the job.

If I could change one thing, it would be the GPS directions I had followed. I got lost a few times on the way to the office, and ended up being late on several occasions. I made it up in hard work, but next time I plan to leave earlier than necessary in order to make-up for any wrong turns.

I learned how to operate audio/visual equipment as well. I, who have never considered myself tech savvy in the slightest, managed to operate the booth on my own every once in a while. I also managed to set up the DVD for the event after us to help them out, work the lights to the speaker’s wishes, and trouble shoot during Q&A as to how to fix the microphones when they turned off.

I worked at the registration table as well. I helped students and teachers sign-in, and was able to meet and understand why students are interested in these events and how they hear about them. Hopefully these tidbits help out in future sessions of the World Affairs Council of Greater Hampton Roads.

I do wish that I had been able to dedicate more time to this internship. I noticed that all the days listed before as available work days were not available, and that a more flexible schedule is necessary for this internship.

Leave a Reply

